Eating out – one solution to grain free, gluten free on the Sunshine Coast

 

Husk & Honey– a cafe that is grain and gluten free- now that’s my kind of eating!

I always feel like I am compromising the way I want to eat when we go out to restaurants. I am always looking for the least offensive meal – you know the one with the best local produce which probably hasn’t been cooked in oils I don’t trust and with plenty of good veges and grass fed, pastured meat. Yes there are my Sheldonisms again!

IMG_2680

Imagine my delight when I came across a cafe where I felt I could trust everything! After listening to an old podcast from the Up for a Chat girls, Cyndi O’Meara, Carren Smith and Kim Morrison about living grain free I decided to look them up to see how they were going as i was in the area.. In that particular episode they interviewed Tania Hubbard who started a grain free cafe, wrote a recipe book, and who now has started another business to sell grain and gluten free packet mixes (sadly no longer available) for cakes and breads to the public and other cafes. This created a must visit…and soon desire in my heart. I also immediately ordered the cookbook and some of the bread and cake packet mixes!

As my lovely hubby and I were spending the weekend up the Sunshine Coast (he was there to ride the Noosa 100 mile bike ride – yes he’s a MAMIL), it seemed like the perfect time to visit this beautiful little cafe.

I was not disappointed the decor had an eclectic retro feel and we enjoyed reading the old newspaper article pasted to the wall beside our table with Martin Luther Kings “I have a dream” speech printed. It was quite a busy place and obviously well supported by the local community.

We started our meal with a blueberry, banana yoghurt based smoothie (for me) and a lovely crema topped long black for Ric. He said it was one of the best coffees he’s had in a while…and that’s saying something!

Lunch for me was Beef Nachos – a generous helping of grass fed beef mince, served with chick pea crisps and a side of the most scrumptious relish, home-made yoghurt herbed cheese and a side salad sprinkled with seeds for crunch. Ric had a Savoury Chickpea Pancake. This is in Tanya’s recipe book, Gluten Free Grain Free – food we love,  and I will definitely be cooking it soon. it consisted of roasted vegetables piled onto the pancake topped with macadamia pesto topped with toasted seeds and it hit the spot quite nicely.

Unfortunately we had no room for desert as the helpings where quite generous but that didn’t stop me from buying a slice of carrot cake and  apple rhubarb crumble cake for us to enjoy later in the day. At this point I really need to confess that Ric really only had a taste of each of these 🙂

So I am comforted to know that it is possible to eat out knowing that the cafe has local quality produce, and satisfies my grain/gluten free lifestyle. I just wish I could find more of these establishments. Please let me know if you can suggest some in or around the South East Queensland way and if you are every on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia, give this one a go, you won’t be disappointed.

 

About Sue

I have a few passions in life, all are creative. I love creating memories with my beautiful hubby, Ric, and my georgous now adult children. I have wonderful friends who push me to try new things and try to create a new and improved version of myself. I love to create food, skincare and all things in my household from scratch. This is in an attempt to live in our less that perfect world as close to the way it might have been in Eden. Perfect relationship with God, wonderful produce, no sickness and abundant love. I believe that our body's are created to heal themselves. The body works as a whole with each system connected to and influenced by each other through wonderful mechanisms (some yet unrealised by science). This body is also connected to and affected by the world we live in. This is in essence Vitalism. In the last 5 years I have been getting closer to living a basic chemical free, seasonal, nutritious life, surrounding myself with inspirational people who share my passions and vision. Recently I have become a Changing Habits Health Mentor. If you are struggling with your health and you need someone alongside you to share the journey feel free to contact me at outofedenliving@gmail.com. We can discuss ways of helping your body to heal itself through getting back to basics in diet, household environment, and decluttering the non essentials out of your life. I look forward to new challenges and new adventures. I also hope to pick up some new friends along the way.
This entry was posted in Health, Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Eating out – one solution to grain free, gluten free on the Sunshine Coast

  1. VickiK says:

    Congrats on completing the nutrition course. Bi had heard it was good.

    Like

Leave a comment